After creating a drawing view, you can right mouse button click on the view and go into a properties dialog box. In this dialog box, there is a Visualization and Behavior area. One of the options is to lock the view. Locking the view means that the view will not be considered when the drawing is updated and will remain the same while the rest of the drawing views get updated. Below is an example of the properties dialog box and the Lock option highlighted.
Figure 1: Lock View option is the properties dialog box.
Figure 2: Front view locked.
Figure 3: Warning message when updating a drawing that contains locked views.
The rest of the drawing views have been updated to incorporate the design change of changing the hole size, while the locked front view is still showing the old size as shown in Figure 4.
Figure 4: The model's center hole diameter has been changed and the drawing updated while the locked view stayed the same.
Although some scenarios call for locked views, it is best practice to not lock your drawing views. There are usually other work-arounds that can accomplish the same thing without having to lock the views. Typically you can modify the links or change the overload properties. The point of CATIA V5 is to have a fully updatable drawing.
About the AuthorFollow on Linkedin More Content by Amy Rath